Simple Chicken Curry

photo

This is a recipe I’ve had for a long time (Tara, I think it actually might have been from you way back when?) and to me it is kind of like a healthy comfort food. I’ll post both the original recipe and the changes I made the most recent time I made it. I liked the original a little better, but either way is good (probably using vanilla almond milk might not have been the best, but that’s the only milk I had).

Ingredients

5 tablespoons butter (I used coconut oil, and you can get away with using a little bit less if you want)
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 1/2 tsp curry
1/3 cup flour (I used coconut flour, probably any flour would work?)
1 1/2 tsp sugar (I used sucanat)
1 1/4 tsp salt (sea salt)
1/4 tsp ginger
1 cup milk (I used almond milk)
1 cup chicken broth
1 1/2 lbs cooked chicken, chopped (I always poach 2-3 breasts earlier in the afternoon, then let them cool and quickly chop/shred it)
1 tsp lemon juice

Directions

In a large pan, saute onion in curry powder and butter/coconut oil for 5 minutes. Stir in salt, flour, sugar, and ginger until blended. Gradually stir in milk and chicken broth and cook, stirring constantly, until thick. Add chicken and lemon juice. Serve over rice or quinoa.

I always serve this with quinoa and broccoli because I think it’s just so tasty! Enjoy.

Also – this is a meal that freezes well if you wanted to double it and save some for another night (plus the original amount leaves some leftovers).

Leave a Reply

